legalresearchandwritingpro.com random header image

Recovering from ABA Techshow

April 6th, 2009 · 6 Comments


As I recently mentioned, for me, the most important part of attending conferences is seeing old friends and having a chance to meet in person some of the great folks I’ve gotten to know online. This year’s ABA Techshow didn’t disappoint!

It was like old home week from the moment I checked into the hotel. Even before I had a chance to drop my luggage in my room, I ran into old friends Bob Kraft (@bobkraft), Allison Shields (@allisonshields) and Jim Calloway (@jimcalloway). Throughout the course of the weekend, I also caught up with my roommates, Carolyn Elefant (@carolynelefant) and Nicole Black (@nikiblack), as well as Andy Simpson (no Twitter username for him—he’s a Twitter curmudgeon!), Aviva Cuyler (@avivacuyler), Kevin O’Keefe (@kevinokeefe), Matt Homann (@matthomann), Ed Poll (@LawBiz), Jeff Allen, Gabe Acevedo (@gabeacevedo), Andrea Cannavina (@legaltypist), Larry Port (@rocketmatter), Jack Newton (@goclio) and Gregory Bell (@jazzrochester).

I’m grateful that I got a chance to get to know Adrian Lurssen (@jdtwitt), Ben Schorr (@bschorr), Conrad Saam (@conradsaam), Rodney Dowell (@rodneydowell), David Shulman (@SoFlaEstatePlan), Jordan Furlong (@jordan_law21), Jensen Ware (@jensenware) and Steve Matthews (@stevematthews).

I met and wish I had a chance to spend more time with Amy Derby (@lawfirmblogger—check out her pictures from the show), Nancy Duhon (@nancyduhon), David Masters, Huma Rashid (@huma_rashid), Michelle Rozovics, Richard Maseles, Alan Klevan (@MassLPMAttorney), Erik Mazzone (@erikmazzone), Rex Gradeless (@Rex7), Brandon Prebynski (@prebynski), Ed Scanlan (@edscanlan) Gwynne Monahan (@econwriter5), Rob LaGatta (@RobLaGatta) and Colin O’Keefe (@colinokeefe—the spitting image of his dad, Kevin).

Like many bloggers who attended TechShow, I need a few days to decompress from the conference, catch up with my work, and get my thoughts together for a substantive post about Techshow (and, more specifically, the keynote address by Richard Susskind, author of The End of Lawyers).

In the meantime, here are some videos and pictures from the show:

The Twitter shirt

Be Sociable, Share!

Tags: Just for Fun · Social networking

6 responses so far ↓

  • Amy Derby // // Apr 6, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Lisa,

    It was SO nice meeting you and having the opportunity to get to know you a bit better. I have already pointed several friends toward your humorous greeting cards at The Non-Billable Hour. I absolutely love funny cards, so you’ll have a new customer in me for sure!

    I’m grateful for your compiling such a thorough list. I see a few more familiar names here whose Twitter names I hadn’t known when I put together my own post.

    Happy recovering! I am still recovering, too, I think. Rather sad since Techshow was in my own city, eh?

  • Lisa Solomon // // Apr 6, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Thanks for your support of The Billable Hour Company (http://TheBillableHour.com).

    (Just to clarify, “the [non]billable hour” is the name of Matt Homann’s blog.)

  • Amy Derby // // Apr 6, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Ack! That is what I meant. Of course, I also love Matt’s blog.

  • Social Media Law Student // // Apr 6, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Tweet Tweet! Nice meeting you! All the best! So many people to meet so little time!

  • Weekend Reading: ABA Techshow Edition | Law Firm Blogger // // Apr 20, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    [...] Recovering from ABA Techshow at Legal Research & Writing Pro [...]

  • HaraHeevomy // // Aug 15, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Apply For Credit Card today @ Getacreditcard.biz Find All Top Offers From Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, We Offer A Wide Variety Of Credit Card Applications, Balance Transfers, Bad Credit Credit Cards, Student Cards, Business Credit Cards, Cash Back & Rewards, Gas Cards, Airline Mileage Cards, This Is A 5 Star Website its Easy To Find What You Want, Be Approved In Minutes!

    Mastercard

Leave a Comment